Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do I make Alice communicate with other apps?
Old
lpjdegraaf
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default How do I make Alice communicate with other apps? - 03-13-2007, 04:56 PM

Is there a way in Alice to communicate to other applications running on the same PC. The main purpose is to let alice respond interactively on things happening in the other app.

I actually would like to realize a 2 way communication mechanism: From another application to alice, but also from alice to the other application.

So suppose I build a plain C# app with a GUI with a button 'spin' on it, can I use this button to make the ice skater spin in the Alice app? If so ... how does this work. And also ... can i let Alice inform the other world about events happening, for example, the ice skater falling into a hole in the ice?

I actually was thinking that it might be possible to do the first thing by letting my C# app generate a button pressed event and sending that to the Alice window. I think this migth work. However, for communication the other way around I do not have a clou. Some help would be greatly appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ottosparks
Senior Member
 
ottosparks's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 117
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: here
Default 03-14-2007, 04:12 PM

Well Acctuly...
1. You Can Make It As A Multiplayer Online Game

2. Let <,>,^,& v Control P1
And
W,A,S,& D For 2P.
But It's Kinda Hard The First Way. "shrugs"
So, I'd Go With The Second


I'm more lopsided than a three-legged badger!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
gabe
Administrator
 
gabe's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default 03-14-2007, 05:06 PM

Alice is written in Java, so theoretically it is possible for you to write a Java app and then modify the Alice source code to have them interact.

You can download the source code here (scroll to the bottom).

The team is unable to provide assistance as we are short on resources and need to focus as much as we can on development of 3.0.

Good luck!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DrJim
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 03-14-2007, 09:07 PM

One other option might be to enable Java scripting and see what you can do with that - although as Gabe documents in another posting, that option isn't fully implemented or actively supported in Alice 2.0.

One program that does work (or at least did in the past - don't know if the default web site is still there) is at: http://www.westga.edu/~drocco/alice/networking.html The site also has notes on enableing scripting.

Personally, I haven't had much luck with this but that may be due to my own lack of programming skill in this area as much as to the program limitations.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.