Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

World/Character Creation
Old
VisualTeacher

Default World/Character Creation - 02-04-2008, 03:56 PM

Hi,

First let me apologize to all, I will be asking many questions that will seem stupid to you all, but I want to learn. I'm a social service worker that assists developmentally disabled clients to gain life skills, I tell you this so you know I have no real computer background.

What I would ideally like to use alice for (if possible) is create edutainment modules so that my clients can explore topics themselves rather than have staff "lecturing" them all the time. My first project would ideally be a budgetting game, where players receive X dollars to pay rent, buy groceries etc. I'd like to have little cutscenes ala oregon trail or old 8-bit games for money transactions, as well as an onscreen calculator.

I suppose before getting into the mechanics, I should ask how I can import images that I create myself, or can I create objects directly in Alice? Thank you.

Old
Lucien

Default 02-04-2008, 04:42 PM

From what I've heard, creating Alice objects requires you to get another 3-d rendering program and create the objects manually that way. I believe images can be imported as billboards, which is probably what you'll want to do with the calculator etc. for simplicity's sake.

First off, you should understand that it's been my experience that Alice is not good for games with large portions of text. Text in Alice is 3-d rendered, and as such has size and dimension and texture that you will have to work with to make it look acceptable. It can be done, but it would take a goodly bit of work to make the interface easily readable and usable.