Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Increase Alice's render capability.
Old
ElectricKirby
Senior Member
 
ElectricKirby's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dreamland, Planet Popstar
Default Increase Alice's render capability. - 07-07-2011, 09:39 PM

Actually, it's very simple. Normally, Alice renders through Direct 7 X, which is its default. If you go to Edit>Preferences, and go to the rendering tab, you can see the renderers that Alice has at disposal. Click on JOGL, and then click "Move Up." Tada! Alice can now handle a little more rendering. Although, it causes the world to lag a little....


My Favorite Resources:
Uploading Images - http://tinypic.com/

File Sharing - http://www.4shared.com/

Textures - http://www.filterforge.com/

Convertible Game-Ripped Models - http://models-resource.com/

Music - http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/gamelist
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 07-07-2011, 09:52 PM

thats a nifty thing to point out, it seems like a new users completely ignore that part of alice(the preferences) I included a little about preferences in one of my tutorials and I completely looked over that. Im going to put the link to this thread on my tutorial list so others can see it more often(in case this thread dies)


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Thumbs down 07-08-2011, 01:10 PM

Unfortunately, in using my render test that I created, I've found that JOGL doesn't support some features.
Mainly, it fails to render textures properly, I experienced black areas around textures, where it seemed to force them to fit some custom size it had. It also would render transparent areas as black in textures with transparency in them.
I didn't really notice any improvement in quality either.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ElectricKirby
Senior Member
 
ElectricKirby's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dreamland, Planet Popstar
Default 07-08-2011, 01:58 PM

Yeah, I noticed that a while after posting this.... All I noticed was that it let me use an object that was too hi-poly for Direct-Draw


My Favorite Resources:
Uploading Images - http://tinypic.com/

File Sharing - http://www.4shared.com/

Textures - http://www.filterforge.com/

Convertible Game-Ripped Models - http://models-resource.com/

Music - http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/gamelist
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 07-09-2011, 03:11 AM

It would be good if somebody was able to add a newer, better renderer; I know where the code and files are for it in Alice, but I haven't got a clue what I would be doing.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
erlendsh
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Vancouver
Default 03-22-2012, 12:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
It would be good if somebody was able to add a newer, better renderer; I know where the code and files are for it in Alice, but I haven't got a clue what I would be doing.
If Alice 3 uses the legacy JOGL 1.x library, upgrading to the vastly improved 2.0 (RC5) would be a great start. Check out JogAmp for more information.

Furthermore, I'd love to discuss the possibility of Alice using jMonkeyEngine 3 as its backend.

Disclaimer: I'm a manager with the jMonkeyEngine project.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 03-22-2012, 05:09 PM

I'd love for this to happen but we don't have access to the 2.2 sources. In fact, I've been trying for quite some time to add compatibility for .DAE files, bump maps, specularity maps, bones with hierarchy, and post-processing rendering features such as motion blur.
Now, the most feasible way would be to create a .JAR that completely supercedes the Alice features, including the current Alice renderer and scenegraph editor using Arty's JAR loader tool.
This more or less means replacing everything about how Alice comprehends a 3d object altogether. New cameras and whatnot.

Last edited by Mr Kidnapper; 03-22-2012 at 05:40 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
erlendsh
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Vancouver
Default 03-24-2012, 03:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
I'd love for this to happen but we don't have access to the 2.2 sources.
I don't understand, I thought the sources for Alice 2.2 had been available for a long time now. Isn't that what you get from the download at Kenai? (downloading now to confirm). Regardless, a community member seems to have uploaded the 2.2 sources on GitHub as well, so I think you're all set!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 03-24-2012, 12:41 PM

Well that's convenient. He uploaded the whole dern'd thing. Fortunately all I really needed was the sources of the alice.jar in the src/ folder. It's 90% of the program and only 10MB.

Well there aren't any more errors in the source but I still keep getting that
Could not find edu/cmu/cs/stage3/alice/authoringtool/JAlice class
error.

Last edited by Mr Kidnapper; 03-24-2012 at 07:42 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.