Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What happened the int to string function?
Old
zero00
Senior Member
 
zero00's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 300
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default What happened the int to string function? - 05-13-2012, 12:29 PM

In 3/1/2012 version of Alice, the int to string function has transformed into a thin purple box. It still works, but it's a bit weird...


==============Some of my Games and Ideas===========

Sky Warrior: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6291
Health Bars: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36968#post36968
Sky Warrior: Dual Force: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7174

Want to make your own space game? http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6389
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 05-13-2012, 02:30 PM

I believe Arty-FishL made a patch that fixes this.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-13-2012, 06:16 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DensetsuNoKaboom View Post
I believe Arty-FishL made a patch that fixes this.
Indeed I did. > CLICK ME FOR PATCH <


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
aikmin
Senior Member
 
aikmin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 85
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default 05-19-2012, 12:09 AM

You do not need to install any patch for the "int as string" function. You are just missing the correct resources file. Attached is the correct resource file. Extract the content to your Alice-Required-resources-en folder.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Alice Style.zip (5.2 KB, 7 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Hi Aikmin
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Hi Aikmin - 05-26-2012, 03:33 PM

A similar problem seems to exist with the java style files. Is there a fix for them as well?

Might be good to update the download with these.

Looked over Arty's patch, and decided to try adding call entries to ...math.Int to the format map of the two Java Style.py files using Dreamweaver. They work fine now.

Last edited by MrMoke; 05-26-2012 at 08:59 PM. Reason: Created a Fix
   
Reply With Quote
Fixed in version 2.3
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Talking Fixed in version 2.3 - 08-26-2012, 02:38 PM

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 04-07-2013, 01:33 PM

...and in the newest version of 2.3 the problem is back again.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Not Exactly
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Smile Not Exactly - 04-07-2013, 02:06 PM

The documentation for version 2.3.3 indicates that it has been renamed to just [int<>] in the World Functions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 04-07-2013, 06:36 PM

Huh, I could've sworn...


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
The change does add interesting functionality
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default The change does add interesting functionality - 04-14-2013, 10:06 AM

The little attached proggie shows interesting aspects.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w intTest.a2w (327.2 KB, 2 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.