Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Objects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 08-06-2011, 04:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
I think I might have fixed it! I enabled scripting on Alice and fixed the javaos.py path reference! I just need to try the actual methods now.

It worked! Thanks so much arty for creating such an awesome tool!
Oh, then that means everybody else already had the OS module patched, it also means that I know how to fix the tool, well done for working this out.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Idea?
Old
Jabadahut50
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2011
Cool Idea? - 08-21-2011, 04:16 PM

Neat tool. I was wondering if it is possible to use this in conjunction with the save tool and world linker tools(not sure who made them) to create a in game load screen to load saves that are in different worlds. If so I am soooo using this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 08-22-2011, 11:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabadahut50 View Post
Neat tool. I was wondering if it is possible to use this in conjunction with the save tool and world linker tools(not sure who made them) to create a in game load screen to load saves that are in different worlds. If so I am soooo using this.
This is a save tool, what do you mean by the save tool in conjunction with this? The world linker tool was made by me also. This tool saves to disk, so the saves can be loaded by any world.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
oh. Whoops!
Old
Jabadahut50
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default oh. Whoops! - 08-22-2011, 03:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
This is a save tool, what do you mean by the save tool in conjunction with this? The world linker tool was made by me also. This tool saves to disk, so the saves can be loaded by any world.
oh derp i feel kinda stupid. What i was wondering is it possible to use this tool to gather info from a folder and display it within alice? I wanna make an ingame load screen. btw ur awsome.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dj Tech42
Senior Member
 
Dj Tech42's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 08-23-2011, 05:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabadahut50 View Post
oh derp i feel kinda stupid. What i was wondering is it possible to use this tool to gather info from a folder and display it within alice? I wanna make an ingame load screen. btw ur awsome.
Yes. You can look at my flight simulator to see how to use it. It's an awesome tool!


Flight Simulator with Dogfight Modes:
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6840
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 08-23-2011, 05:47 PM

You mean those save/load slots in RPGs that show your level, HP and whatnot? I don't see why you couldn't. Use the get_value command a lot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Jabadahut50
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default 08-23-2011, 06:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
Yes. You can look at my flight simulator to see how to use it. It's an awesome tool!
I have a problem with your flight simulator. every time i try to run it it always has an error and won't run.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Jabadahut50
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default 08-23-2011, 06:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
You mean those save/load slots in RPGs that show your level, HP and whatnot? I don't see why you couldn't. Use the get_value command a lot.
Yeah i was thining siomilar lines as in location, time, and score for a fps game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dj Tech42
Senior Member
 
Dj Tech42's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 08-23-2011, 06:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabadahut50 View Post
I have a problem with your flight simulator. every time i try to run it it always has an error and won't run.
Try going to the iOTool object and click the properties tab. You can set the paths of the files you want to load and save from in there. That should make the flight simulator work. It's set to C:\ by default on Windows and /Users/Shared on Mac.

Change the variables that have "file" in the name (current file, prefs file, calibrate file, etc.)


Flight Simulator with Dogfight Modes:
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6840
   
Reply With Quote
New version in the works
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow New version in the works - 08-24-2011, 10:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
Try going to the iOTool object and click the properties tab. You can set the paths of the files you want to load and save from in there. That should make the flight simulator work. It's set to C:\ by default on Windows and /Users/Shared on Mac.

Change the variables that have "file" in the name (current file, prefs file, calibrate file, etc.)
That's got me thinking

I'm working on an update right now.
It features:
- An OS module patch
- More functions for use with numbers
- A function that provides the user's home directory (So the stuff Dj Tech42 is talking about can be resolved automatically)
- A function that provides the Alice directory
- Some other features.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.