Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 07-14-2011, 04:52 PM

hey X, I made a new tutorial on how to do this process, I actually talk all the way through it to explain everything and tried to hit some points that might have been left out in the other videos


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 07-14-2011, 05:52 PM

Yeah, I had no microphone, so mine was silent.

Good stuff. Is it in your tutorials thread?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 07-14-2011, 05:56 PM

yes sir, I just put it in a little bit ago


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
beachbum111111
Senior Member
 
beachbum111111's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: e
Default 08-23-2011, 12:16 PM

It doesn't work... I can't find the .blender in the blender file so I can't put in the scripts.


"Don't lead me into temptation I can find it myself"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
mmar
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-06-2011, 05:46 AM

It's not only problem in folders but there are quite many problems. I've put some simple objects into alice with:

1. draw in google sketchup
2. export from sketchup into .dae file
3. import .dae into blender
4. export from blender into .obj file
5. import .obj into biturn
6. export from biturn into .ase file
7. import .ase into alice

All these works fine for about 50% tries. For other 50% Blender crashes. Is there problem in blender or sketchup... who knows... maybe in XP I've got.

In fact, I made a conclusion that there is no reliable way making standalone object. The only way is the way using Alices objects. Unles you buy expensive software like Maya and others and making try with fortune.

Am I wrong?

m.

Last edited by mmar; 09-06-2011 at 05:49 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,145
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N/A
Default 09-06-2011, 08:41 AM

It never works for me, so I have just given up. (I know I shouldn't but I am.) My OS is Win. XP SP 3.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
AliceMaster00
Senior Member
 
AliceMaster00's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 167
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: You know that gap between the bottom of your dresser and the floor? Yeah, there.
Default 11-08-2011, 07:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
You click select, then select all (to get the whole model), then click export, then Wavefront object (near the bottom), then name your new object and click ok (I haven't messed around with the settings they ask you about when you export as a wavefront object, but you can try if you want).
I have tried this but didnt work. Oh by the way, nice resident penguin game, IT WAS ADDICTING but id always died by the third round cauz of that HUGE body figure.


What a piece of work is a man? How noble in reason, how infinite in faculties, in form and in motion, how express and admirable how like an angel! What apprehension oh how like a god! The beauty of thee world, the paragon of animals, and yet- to me, what is this quintessence o' dust? Man delights, not me. Nor woman either, nor woman either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-08-2011, 08:38 PM

Thanks.

So Blender didn't work for you? Or just the export?
   
Reply With Quote
where do i download biturn
Old
GinoMtz
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: mty
Default where do i download biturn - 11-27-2011, 11:50 AM

I could only find a biturn version 0.37 i think and it doesnt have the option of converting the .obj to .ASE. I tried the myrex.com (i think thats the name) website and i couldnt download it from there. Anywhere i can download biturn 0.87 directly?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-27-2011, 10:36 PM

How about right here, in this post?

You may need to unzip it twice, though. I archived it in rar form, so the first unzip might extract the rar file instead of the exe.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bi088.zip (465.2 KB, 3 views)


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.