Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Help making star wars intro
Old
Seyla
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2011
Smile Help making star wars intro - 02-27-2012, 08:40 AM

As said in the title is there any useful info I could use on how to create a star wars "like" intro with the text moving up and a space like background? Thank you!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
InsertName
Senior Member
 
InsertName's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 341
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In a house
Default 02-27-2012, 07:56 PM

depends on weather you want to have stars in the backround


__№_₤⅞__
Handguns: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=45349
MINECRAFT IN ALICE: http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=48208
My Stupid Animations: http://alice.org/community/album.php?albumid=119
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 02-28-2012, 10:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by InsertName View Post
weather
Sir, I think you mean "whether".


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dexor
Junior Member
 
Dexor's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: LC,NM
Default 02-28-2012, 12:00 PM

Here's a world that does something like that. Took me about 30 minutes to come up with.

Somethings you should know about this example:
1. Since it is an example it will show you how to do something, but it will not do it for you.
2. The default text size of a text box is not used here, I had to resize, using the resize tool, for my purposes, which means you can't just cut and paste the code and get it to work without messing around with your own text boxes.
3. I do not know of a way to use only 1 text box here, because a text box continues outward length wise. So multiple text boxes were used.
4. Since I did not want to have to use the same code over and over to do the same thing with all the text boxes I needed, I wrote a method that takes the text box I want to move and it's line number. That line number offsets the text before it moves that way I don't need to position it manually.
5. To make that method work, I set up a starting point for my text. I did that by putting 1 text box at a good starting point, and just dropping a dummy at that spot. After that, I set a text box to that point of view to that dummy before moving the text in the method.
6. If you HAVE to use this example as is, then you'll need to save the attached a2c file and import it for each line. You cannot simply make a copy of a text box using the copy tool, as it links the properties of each copy. Meaning changing it for one changes it for all of the copies. (At least in Alice 2.0 it does.)
7. I can't promise this will work and this was all done in good faith.

Hopefully this answers your question. Remember that trial and error is a big part of programming in Alice, so take some time to find out what works out best for you.
-Dx
Attached Files
File Type: a2w swTextExample.a2w (47.1 KB, 17 views)
File Type: a2c swtext.a2c (1.8 KB, 15 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Seyla
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default 02-29-2012, 08:56 PM

Thank you very much guys for your input hehe :P! Also, thanks a lot Dexor for helping me! Much appreciated!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dexor
Junior Member
 
Dexor's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: LC,NM
Default 03-07-2012, 02:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seyla View Post
Thank you very much guys for your input hehe :P! Also, thanks a lot Dexor for helping me! Much appreciated!
You're welcome, I hope it helped out! Let me know what you think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
berrrg
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default 03-11-2012, 12:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seyla View Post
As said in the title is there any useful info I could use on how to create a star wars "like" intro with the text moving up and a space like background? Thank you!
you can insert text, and have it all move in the direction you want at once. !
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.