Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice Lag.
Old
Joker899
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Default Alice Lag. - 12-19-2011, 10:44 AM

So let me lay this out before telling you my problem. I am currently in the process of finishing up my final project for my programming class (typical, right?). The project is a zombie apocalypse FPS with 25 different zombies (because I couldn't think of a better way to recycle) that each have complex coding to react to bullet collision. After finishing all this, I can no longer play my 130mb alice world. I sit in a gray alice animation screen for about 2 minutes, missing all of the beginning scenario, and then have huge amounts of lag.

Here is my world as is:
http://www.mediafire.com/?z8rufdtadfzk5sg

If you could take a look at the coding and use your supreme expertise to help me minimize what I have, I would be eternally grateful. Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dakota95
Senior Member
 
dakota95's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 426
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: like I would tell you. ;)
Default 12-19-2011, 12:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joker899 View Post
So let me lay this out before telling you my problem. I am currently in the process of finishing up my final project for my programming class (typical, right?). The project is a zombie apocalypse FPS with 25 different zombies (because I couldn't think of a better way to recycle) that each have complex coding to react to bullet collision. After finishing all this, I can no longer play my 130mb alice world. I sit in a gray alice animation screen for about 2 minutes, missing all of the beginning scenario, and then have huge amounts of lag.

Here is my world as is:
http://www.mediafire.com/?z8rufdtadfzk5sg

If you could take a look at the coding and use your supreme expertise to help me minimize what I have, I would be eternally grateful. Thanks.
did you try clicking the restart button? That generally fixes that problem.


<Insert_Signature_Here>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Joker899
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Default 12-19-2011, 01:24 PM

Yes. Several hundred times now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-19-2011, 01:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakota95 View Post
did you try clicking the restart button? That generally fixes that problem.
That definitely won't fix this problem.

Your world is way too large. And 25 zombies is kinda too many. The recycling thing would definitely help, but it may not fix it.

Resident Penguin has a zombie recycling method, if you want to see one.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.