Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do you give AI sight?
Old
Someone
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2011
Question How do you give AI sight? - 09-11-2011, 04:09 PM

I was tring to give an AI "sight" identify are only infront of it
any ideas
   
Reply With Quote
Old
beachbum111111
Senior Member
 
beachbum111111's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: e
Default 09-11-2011, 04:43 PM

Make an if statement and put when the camera is in front of AI Ai do (Put whatever you wan't it to do here)


"Don't lead me into temptation I can find it myself"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Someone
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-11-2011, 08:20 PM

what is the sintex and where do i get it from that says if object is infront of?
can i decide how close to the exact front it has to be for it to be true?
would this be able to identyfy different objects?

Does any one know where i could get a good coast that has a little more land compared to water.

Last edited by Someone; 09-11-2011 at 08:24 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
room14
Senior Member
 
room14's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Default 09-12-2011, 04:04 AM

what kind of ai you are planning to make?


:D
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 09-12-2011, 07:46 AM

To make them see, is by putting a cube about 10 meters infront of the enemy. Make that the detection so it's more of less detecting front movement and not if your behind. I did that for Hero's and it worked.


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Someone
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-13-2011, 03:03 PM

i thought of the cube thing already but i want a realistic line of sight(not able to see through walls) not one with "blind spots" or "weak spots"

i was thinking i could do something with the orentstion/position of the objects. mayby a mathamatical formula the can be used to figure out if the AI can "see" a pesific object or not.
i am preaty shure a formula like that has to exist.

(it has only been a copple days since i starlted working with alice so don't have experience)
i was also thinking of a bunch of spheres that go off in diffrent directions at high speeds and return to the AI when they encounter an object. concentration of these objects would depend on direction( most concentration at the front) this would also take inacount gor distance as the spheres would get further apart the futher you go.
unforionetly this would be long complecated and probably slow down alice if there are a bunch of AI

i am still looking for a good coastline in alice that has already been made and is avalable.

Last edited by Someone; 09-13-2011 at 05:24 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
GameKid
Senior Member
 
GameKid's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 467
Join Date: May 2011
Location: My magnificent castle
Default 09-17-2011, 12:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
To make them see, is by putting a cube about 10 meters infront of the enemy. Make that the detection so it's more of less detecting front movement and not if your behind. I did that for Hero's and it worked.
Crap, ninja'd.
I was about to say that, with a cone, not a cube.
Edit: Try two or three size-varying cones with boolean logic to whether there's a wall or not.

Last edited by GameKid; 09-17-2011 at 02:22 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 09-29-2011, 03:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldsmith View Post
I did a bit of code to optimize the navigation to hit the database more often than necessary, and perhaps once a week instead of slowing down due to a crawl. This should help avoid this situation and if it does for other reasons
...What?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Someone
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 09-29-2011, 04:58 PM

it might work if i use the infront of funktion and have an invisible object go towards the object infront of the AI at high speeds. if the invisable objet reaches the target object without geting too close to another object then the AI acts as if it is seeing the target object.
   
Reply With Quote
Ai with line of sight the easy way:
Old
kennithfoley
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: california
Default Ai with line of sight the easy way: - 09-30-2011, 10:12 AM

Today im going to show you how to make a AI with line of sight .There are many examples on how to do this,..but i checked them all and they ...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sight

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.