Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Alice Launcher (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=9807)

arty-fishL 12-23-2012 12:40 AM

Alice Launcher
 
I wanted to create something that would be ready for Christmas, so I came up with this:

[IMG]https://dl.dropbox.com/u/67774614/Alice%20Launcher.png[/IMG]

Basically this replaces the Alice exe. It still launches Alice, it took a while to work out the setup for doing so, but it also has configurable options, shortcuts and mods.

The "Memory to allocate" option should hopefully fix some lag issues.

[URL="http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=52378#post52378"]Get mods for Alice (that use this) from here[/URL]

[SIZE=4][URL="http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=52035#post52035"]Download it here[/URL][/SIZE]

---------------------------------------
[B]CHANGELOG[/B]
Haven't really been recording updates, but I will from now on.

[U]Minor idea of what was changed before I made this official changelog:[/U]
- pre v0.8: can't remember, didn't really record changes
- v0.8: [URL="http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=52084#post52084"]link
[/URL]- v0.9: under the hood changes

[U]v0.10 (3.0.0)[/U]
- many under the hood changes and fixes
- added support for [URL="http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=52378#post52378"]mods[/URL]
- fixed some memory leak issues
- added an option to alocate "Default" amount of memory to Alice
- fixed a major bug in preferences
- fixed some bugs that occur when Alice crashes

[U]v0.11 (4.0.0)[/U]
- rewritten the way mods are loaded and handled due to a major bug
- fixed a mod loading issue that would cause crashes

[U]v0.12 (4.0.1) [current version][/U]
- minor under the hood changes

GameKid 12-23-2012 02:59 AM

There's an ArtyOnline icon.
Does that say anything about the ArtyOnline release-date (No pressure)?

arty-fishL 12-25-2012 09:52 AM

[QUOTE=GameKid;52024]There's an ArtyOnline icon.
Does that say anything about the ArtyOnline release-date (No pressure)?[/QUOTE]Not really, sorry.

arty-fishL 12-25-2012 10:03 AM

Here it is
 
I said I would post ths and a promise is a promise so here it is.

[B]Sorry, this is Windows only so far.[/B]

[U][B]Installing[/B][/U]
Run (or download to a temporary place and run) [URL="https://www.dropbox.com/s/f4gjjsmodcbo4cr/Alice%20Launcher%20Installer.exe?dl=0"]this installer[/URL].

Choose the folder that you installed Alice to (with the Alice exe and "Required" sub-folder) and click download.

[LIST][*] [SIZE=3][B]Main download[/B]: [URL="https://www.dropbox.com/s/f4gjjsmodcbo4cr/Alice%20Launcher%20Installer.exe?dl=0"][SIZE=3]Windows .exe[/SIZE][/URL] [SIZE=2][I](requires JRE 1.6)[/I][/SIZE][/SIZE][*] [SIZE=2]Alternative download: [URL="https://www.dropbox.com/s/cc1mf1mbrwy7lzw/Alice%20Launcher%20Installer.jar?dl=0"][SIZE=2]Java executable .jar[/SIZE][/URL] [I](requires JRE 1.6+)[/I][/SIZE][/LIST]

[U][B]Starting[/B][/U]

There should now be a shortcut labelled "Alice Launcher" in the folder you chose, this will start Alice launcher.
You can pin this to the taskbar or whatever.


[U][B]What doesn't work yet[/B][/U]
[LIST][*]Changing the JRE to one that doesn't have JOGL installed.[*]Allocating 2GB of RAM or higher.[*]ArtyOnline.[/LIST]
[U][B]What didn't work before, but does after updates[/B][/U]
[LIST][*]Splash screen editing on Alice 2.3 and above.[*]Mods.[/LIST]

I recommend enabling "Automatically launch Alice" option.


Updates are on their way, including fixing what doesn't work yet, [SIZE=1]making a better installer[/SIZE] (done) and adding support for Mac and Linux (dubious as to whether this will ever be implemented).

arty-fishL 12-25-2012 04:30 PM

I forgot to mention why you should install this (ie. what it does).
[LIST][*][B]It has all the functions of the standard exe, so you've got nothing to lose.[/B][*]If Alice crashes then your preferences file isn't reset (like it is with the standard exe), but you can choose to reset it if you believe that is the source of the problem.[*]It better handles multiple instances of Alice; they all share preferences, instead of just one instance.[*]You can safely modify the startup splash (coming soon in Alice 2.3+), default world and preferences file.[*]You can allocate more RAM to Alice, to solve lag issues.[*]It logs process output, so can be used to solve startup errors.[*]You can select a world to open before Alice launches, therefore saving on precious fumbling around time.[*]"Auto launch Alice" can be enabled, so you can forget the Alice Launcher is even there.[*]It has a button for launching the ArtyOnline server app.[*]It has a built in auto-updater.[/LIST]And many more cool features coming soon, including - but not limited to:
[LIST][*]Running Alice as a 64 bit process[*]Mods, addons, styles and themes[*]Using the server browser to launch Alice straight into ArtyOnline games.[*]More...[/LIST]

x2495iiii 12-26-2012 01:39 AM

Very cool. Do you need any testing done?

arty-fishL 12-27-2012 11:40 AM

[QUOTE=x2495iiii;52037]Very cool. Do you need any testing done?[/QUOTE]Basically, just any amount of using it will be a great help, thanks. My number one concern right now is does it work for everybody?

x2495iiii 12-27-2012 10:47 PM

It's a rare file, so many of my security features assume it's a virus. Fortunately, the termination isn't automatic, so it can be authorized.

It appears to work well. It ran a bit slow at first and Windows thought it didn't install properly, but I think that was due to the interference of my security, no fault of your own.

Got through the browse and download sections just fine.

The launch button works for me.

I did get a red queen when launching Alice for the third time in a row. It appeared to be one of those errors you can simply cancel and continue working, as it didn't stop Alice from launching or make the program unresponsive.

Anything else I should test? Maybe I could have a copy of the latest mods to see if those work?

arty-fishL 12-28-2012 01:46 PM

[QUOTE=x2495iiii;52047]It's a rare file, so many of my security features assume it's a virus. Fortunately, the termination isn't automatic, so it can be authorized.
[B]It shouldn't be :confused:, the installer is a Windows exe that does no extracting at all. It downloads the files (a jar and an icon), puts them in the right place and creates a shorcut.[/B]

It appears to work well. It ran a bit slow at first and Windows thought it didn't install properly, but I think that was due to the interference of my security, no fault of your own.
[B]I got that "didn't install properly" thing too. I just ignored it, I'm not too sure how to fix it. I'm also not too sure why it automatically decided it needed admin privelages, it shouldn't need them.[/B]

Got through the browse and download sections just fine.

The launch button works for me.

I did get a red queen when launching Alice for the third time in a row. It appeared to be one of those errors you can simply cancel and continue working, as it didn't stop Alice from launching or make the program unresponsive.
[B]If it happens again, could you possibly send me the exact error text (from the details bit). It looks like a load of rubbish, but its actually quite useful.[/B]

Anything else I should test? Maybe I could have a copy of the latest mods to see if those work?
[B]The mod system isn't working yet, but if you could try the "Open World" tab and try messing about with the "Memory to allocate" setting with a world that maybe lags a lot, then that would be awesome and I would thak you greatly.[/B][/QUOTE]
Thankyou for helping :). Responses in bold.

beachbum111111 12-28-2012 08:48 PM

Sweet :D

arty-fishL 12-29-2012 02:17 PM

[QUOTE=beachbum111111;52050]Sweet :D[/QUOTE]Thanks :D. I thought you used Mac, but maybe I remember wrong.

beachbum111111 12-29-2012 05:56 PM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;52056]Thanks :D. I thought you used Mac, but maybe I remember wrong.[/QUOTE]

I use my moms mac when my pc decides to die

arty-fishL 12-31-2012 09:04 PM

What version of Alice have you guys been using this with?

x2495iiii 01-01-2013 10:21 AM

2.3 for me.

Just upgraded.

arty-fishL 01-01-2013 05:24 PM

[QUOTE=x2495iiii;52065]2.3 for me.

Just upgraded.[/QUOTE]And it still works? This means I'm going to have to redownload Alice 2.3, I somehow broke it and I thought it just might have been because of the launcher and a simple fix, never mind.

beachbum111111 01-02-2013 01:47 AM

what does 2.3 even add that 2.2 didn't have?

arty-fishL 01-02-2013 11:56 AM

[QUOTE=beachbum111111;52068]what does 2.3 even add that 2.2 didn't have?[/QUOTE]

In terms of features, I'm not too sure, but it does add Spanish, which means loads has changed under the hood, so it's much harder to develop for.

arty-fishL 01-06-2013 01:08 AM

Latest Update - v0.8
 
The latest update for the Alice Launcher is up.
Amongst other things, the main changes are:
[LIST][*]You can now [B]change the splash screen image for Alice version 2.3[/B] and up! :) This is a pretty neat feature as it involves injecting files into the Alice jar, which is dangerous to do manually.[*][B]Better handling when Alice crashes[/B].[*][B]A "Kill Alice Process" button[/B] in the "settings" tab and system tray menu. This is useful as when Alice is launched via the Alice Launcher it has an ambiguous process name, which is useless in task manager.[*]It now [B]displays the version[/B] in the "about" tab.[/LIST]It should install the update automagically when you run it.


Here's some splash screens I found on my computer (by me and jedi), these are thumbnails, click for the full image:

[URL="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/201/alicesplashcows.png/"][IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img201/4349/alicesplashcows.th.png[/IMG][/URL] [URL="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/507/alicesplash1.jpg/"][IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img507/3061/alicesplash1.th.jpg[/IMG][/URL] [URL="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/23/alicesplash.jpg/"][IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img23/2784/alicesplash.th.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
[URL="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/9/alicesplasheaster.jpg/"][IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img9/8767/alicesplasheaster.th.jpg[/IMG][/URL] [URL="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/16/penguin2013.gif/"][IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img16/1240/penguin2013.th.gif[/IMG][/URL]

The Penguin 2013 one is animated and does work as an animated splash, which is pretty cool :cool:.

bob3584 01-26-2013 09:23 PM

Could you explain in layman's terms how this will improve my Alice programming experience? And what is Arty Online?

arty-fishL 02-07-2013 08:07 PM

[QUOTE=bob3584;52202]Could you explain in layman's terms how this will improve my Alice programming experience? And what is Arty Online?[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;52036]I forgot to mention why you should install this (ie. what it does).
[LIST][*][B]It has all the functions of the standard exe, so you've got nothing to lose.[/B][*]If Alice crashes then your preferences file isn't reset (like it is with the standard exe), but you can choose to reset it if you believe that is the source of the problem.[*]It better handles multiple instances of Alice; they all share preferences, instead of just one instance.[*]You can safely modify the startup splash (coming soon in Alice 2.3+), default world and preferences file.[*]You can allocate more RAM to Alice, to solve lag issues.[*]It logs process output, so can be used to solve startup errors.[*]You can select a world to open before Alice launches, therefore saving on precious fumbling around time.[*]"Auto launch Alice" can be enabled, so you can forget the Alice Launcher is even there.[*]It has a button for launching the ArtyOnline server app.[*]It has a built in auto-updater.[/LIST][/QUOTE]
If you don't understand parts of this just say which parts ad I will try and explain better.

ArtyOnline is an online multiplayer thing I've been trying to bring to Alice for ages now, its got pretty complicated and I'm otherwise busy, but I promise it will be released eventually (even if people aren't using Alice anymore).

bob3584 02-08-2013 09:15 AM

Does it work with ALICE 2.3?

arty-fishL 02-08-2013 10:08 AM

[QUOTE=bob3584;52353]Does it work with ALICE 2.3?[/QUOTE]Yes.

For now, please be aware it is in alpha, so there shouldn't be any major bugs, but there are features (such as mods etc) that do nothing yet.

I also highly recommend ticking the "Automatically launch Alice" checkbox at the top of it.

bob3584 02-08-2013 11:07 AM

Ok, I'll try it... By the way, right now I'm learning how to script, so what language would you suggest or think is most useful (I'm thinking maybe C#)?

bob3584 02-08-2013 11:17 AM

It won't let me download it! :P It says I don't have an internet connection(which I obviously have since I'm posting this).

bob3584 02-08-2013 11:26 AM

Never mind, it worked. How do I instal the mods and such?

arty-fishL 02-08-2013 11:31 AM

[QUOTE=bob3584;52355]Ok, I'll try it... By the way, right now I'm learning how to script, so what language would you suggest or think is most useful (I'm thinking maybe C#)?[/QUOTE]Java is my favourite for big things and applications (this launcher is written in Java), Python for small things and server side scripts. I don't know C# yet, but I'm going to learn it next year.

I would recommend either C# or Java, they're similar in too many ways to pick a better one.

bob3584 02-08-2013 11:54 AM

Ok, so, where do I get the mods?

arty-fishL 02-10-2013 11:32 AM

[QUOTE=bob3584;52359]Ok, so, where do I get the mods?[/QUOTE]
The first mod is up now. [URL]http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=52378[/URL]

You will need to let the Alice Launcher update so that it can use mods.
Please note that right now all you can do is install; you can't disable, update, uninstall, view more info or anything like that yet.

bob3584 02-10-2013 11:09 PM

Ok.

arty-fishL 02-19-2013 07:36 PM

I've just fixed some major mod loading issues that will break current mods, so make sure you update your mods (see [URL="http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=9909"]this thread[/URL]).

An auto updater for mods is coming soon.

Also a new mod is out, Gloo (see [URL="http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=9909"]this thread[/URL] for the mod)!!!!

arty-fishL 05-24-2013 04:57 PM

Update 0.14
 
Big update released v0.14 (5.0.0), just run the Alice Launcher to automatically update it. This update was almost more effort than its worth (I had to learn to write raw HTTP requests), but I'm sure the effort wasn't for nothing.

The biggest change is that mods are much easier to manage now. The mod manager now actually works properly. There is an in-app store to download mods and styles. Mods are automatically updated.

Here are the main features:
[LIST][*]Revamped mods tab
- Got rid of addons sub-tab (not needed)
- Got rid of themes sub-tab (might make a mod instead)
- Redone the styles sub-tab, it still needs finished though
- Redone the mods sub-tab:
[IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img801/7470/alicelaunchermodstab.png[/IMG]
- Added a store sub-tab, quickly view and install mods and styles from it:
[IMG]http://imageshack.us/a/img441/7740/alicelauncherstoretab.png[/IMG][*]Now automatically checks for mod updates[*]Disabling mods works properly now[*]Many bugs in loading the config files have been fixed[*]Various other bugs and stuff sorted[/LIST]Theres a few dummy buttons added that do nothing yet, the styles tab isnt finished yet, uploading mods or styles is a bit dodgy and there may be a few download issues, but they are all being fixed right now.

arty-fishL 03-13-2015 12:09 PM

Works Again in Alice 2.4
 
Alice 2.4 broke this. I fixed it.

I extracted the program code from my old broken computer, fiddled with it until I could use it and fixed it so that it works with Alice 2.4 (such that the same fix shouldn't need to be done for any future Alice updates) and fixed a bunch of warnings and errors under the hood.

No features have been added, modified or removed, what wasn't fully implemented before still isn't. But, now it works again, so great.

It should automatically update if anybody still has it installed (which I doubt), if you use [URL="https://dl.dropbox.com/u/67774614/Alice%20Launcher%20Installer.exe"]the installer[/URL], then it will install the latest version (1.0).

RavenOfCode 03-23-2015 06:48 AM

This is awesome, and really cool, no idea how you did this :) as I will never be able to do anything like this...

Thumbs up :D

x2495iiii 03-23-2015 10:31 AM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;55632]Alice 2.4 broke this. I fixed it.

I extracted the program code from my old broken computer, fiddled with it until I could use it and fixed it so that it works with Alice 2.4 (such that the same fix shouldn't need to be done for any future Alice updates) and fixed a bunch of warnings and errors under the hood.

No features have been added, modified or removed, what wasn't fully implemented before still isn't. But, now it works again, so great.

It should automatically update if anybody still has it installed (which I doubt), if you use [URL="https://dl.dropbox.com/u/67774614/Alice%20Launcher%20Installer.exe"]the installer[/URL], then it will install the latest version (1.0).[/QUOTE]

Still awesome, after all these years.

Or rather, after BOTH these years :P

RavenOfCode 04-26-2015 06:48 PM

Having issues with the mod tab not being displayed?

Any suggestions?

arty-fishL 04-26-2015 08:31 PM

Help...
 
[QUOTE=x2495iiii;55789]Still awesome, after all these years.

Or rather, after BOTH these years :P[/QUOTE]

Thanks X, nice to see that you are still here and active, that's awesome.

[QUOTE=RavenOfCode;56093]Having issues with the mod tab not being displayed?

Any suggestions?[/QUOTE]

OK, so, if you have definitely ran the installer and selected the right folder with Alice to install to, then there will be a new shortcut alongside the Alice one, it looks like this:
[IMG]https://i.imgur.com/q4DTxoE.jpg[/IMG]
You have to run that instead of the Alice exe, this just means Alice is still usable as normal if this breaks.
If that isn't there, then something is wrong.

Then, the Alice Launcher window will pop up (after a splash screen), it should have a mods tab, like this:
[URL="http://imgur.com/R6TL0JY"][IMG]http://i.imgur.com/R6TL0JYm.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
(Image was massive, click for full resolution).
That is inside the Alice Launcher window before Alice launches, you can click to launch Alice from there (or set it to auto launch next time).

If that window doesn't show up, or if you have Alice set to auto launch, then you can get to it from right clicking the icon in the system tray:
[IMG]https://i.imgur.com/CE0Czza.jpg[/IMG]

If somehow the Alice Launcher window hasn't shown and that icon isn't in the system tray, but Alice itself is open, then you can get to the Alice Launcher from here:
[IMG]https://i.imgur.com/H5GheD1.jpg[/IMG]

The presence of that menu also lets you know everything is set up correctly, however I don't think it shows until you actually install some mods too, in that case this little bit in the help menu should always be present if everything is good:
[IMG]https://i.imgur.com/gqbYqyD.jpg[/IMG]

If all that fails, then either its not installed properly, or I need to fix something.

RavenOfCode 04-27-2015 06:26 AM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;56094]

The presence of that menu also lets you know everything is set up correctly, however I don't think it shows until you actually install some mods too, in that case this little bit in the help menu should always be present if everything is good:
[IMG]https://i.imgur.com/gqbYqyD.jpg[/IMG]

If all that fails, then either its not installed properly, or I need to fix something.[/QUOTE]

I did everything you said... but the mod tab in alice still isnt showing up...

arty-fishL 04-27-2015 09:58 AM

[QUOTE=RavenOfCode;56097]I did everything you said... but the mod tab in alice still isnt showing up...[/QUOTE]
Do you mean the mods menu in Alice? Because that won't show up until you install any mods, which you can do from the mods tab in Alice Launcher.

Is Alice Launcher showing up to begin with? Is the Help menu label there like in the picture above?

[COLOR="DarkGreen"]So, in Alice Launcher, before Alice has started, you go to the mods tab like in the picture above. Then you can either download a mod from here and install it, or you can click on the "store" sub-tab and install a mod from there, that'll probably throw up an error, just click to continue and ignore it, it lies. Then, if Alice was already open, close it, because installed mods won't take effect until Alice is restarted. If it's not open, then just click the "Launch Alice" button from the top-right of the Alice Launcher window. Finally, once Alice is started, you should have that menu.[/COLOR]

RavenOfCode 04-28-2015 04:33 PM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;56099]Do you mean the mods menu in Alice? Because that won't show up until you install any mods, which you can do from the mods tab in Alice Launcher.

Is Alice Launcher showing up to begin with? Is the Help menu label there like in the picture above?

[COLOR="DarkGreen"]So, in Alice Launcher, before Alice has started, you go to the mods tab like in the picture above. Then you can either download a mod from here and install it, or you can click on the "store" sub-tab and install a mod from there, that'll probably throw up an error, just click to continue and ignore it, it lies. Then, if Alice was already open, close it, because installed mods won't take effect until Alice is restarted. If it's not open, then just click the "Launch Alice" button from the top-right of the Alice Launcher window. Finally, once Alice is started, you should have that menu.[/COLOR][/QUOTE]

Still not working... Ill try reinstalling it...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.

Copyright ©2022, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.