Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Mouse event freezes during "do together" actions nested in a "while" loop (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7639)

todd0312 11-22-2011 04:09 PM

Mouse event freezes during "do together" actions nested in a "while" loop

1 Attachment(s)
Hello:

Actually, I am having a number of issues.

I am making a game - using arrays - in which toruses fall from the sky - in increasing numbers as the game progresses. I have figured out a somewhat simple-minded way to do it, but... the mouse event freezes when I have the rings fall at the same time. A number of things happen when each ring falls, when the rings fall together, each ring is already in its own do together block, and if I have 3 rings falling at the same time, each of those "do together blocks" is nested in - another "do together block". I am guessing (I am new to this), but I am not sure how else to get the game to work, even half-ass as it is.

I have to use arrays for this (yes, it is a school project... and I don't want anyone to do it for me), but I cannot wrap my head around this. I have an "index", but I don't use it directly in the game. I was given this advice, but I still couldn't figure out how to use it:

[COLOR="DarkRed"]Use a nested loop (a loop inside of a loop). In the inner loop set the rings to fall using an array with an index. Keep looping while the index is less than another variable called ceiling. In the outer loop increment the ceiling variable so with each pass through the outer loop will cause the inner loop to add another object (ring).[/COLOR]

If anyone could look at this (first to test if it even opens); it does on both of my computers, I would really appreciate it.