Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

A couple of car game questions
Old
Darkpivot

Question A couple of car game questions - 07-23-2007, 07:07 PM

Hi, this is my first post here. I am new to Alice but am picking it up very quick. I have learned basic things and have learned how to make a car move forward and back and turn left and right with the arrow keys. But I don't know how to keep the car on the ground. When I move the car forward it moves up while it is going forward. When it is going back it moves down through the ground. How do I fix this? Also how do I make collision detections so it will just bump into objects like hills sights and buildings? A couple more things. How do I make it to where when you press the up arrow, instead of jerking strait to full speed it eases to full speed. But if you let go it will ease to a stop. Same with the back arrow and going to reverse. Also, make it stop faster if I hold the back button while it is going forward. A know this is a lot of questions but if you know the answer to one or two of them please tell me. Thank You!

Edit: 1 more thing. How do you disable turning when you are not moving and can only turn at the speed the car is moving at.

Last edited by Darkpivot; 07-23-2007 at 07:22 PM.

Old
DickBaldwin

Default 07-23-2007, 08:35 PM

It sounds like you may be able to make good use of the free online Alice tutorials at http://www.dickbaldwin.com/tocalice.htm

Pay particular attention to Appendix A, which contains explanations and illustrations of all of the primitive methods. You may find the answers to some of your questions there.

Dick Baldwin

Old
islandfever

Default 07-23-2007, 09:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkpivot View Post