Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Text in Spanish
Old
RDetwiler

Default Text in Spanish - 06-16-2008, 01:54 PM

I just met Alice this morning, did the 4 tutorials, created my own world with a beach chair that rolls over and says "Hola, ¿Cómo estás?" in text and sound. I am a Spanish teacher with no programming experience, knowledge, or skills. This is way exciting, and I'm thinking of lots of things I might do with and for my students. I regularly use a Spanish keyboard and use Windows' Spanish keyboard configuration. I had no problem typing text in Spanish into the method I was editing , but it didn't come out readable when I played my world. What can I do so that the Spanish characters will appear correctly in speech and thought balloons?

Thanks,
Richard Detwiler
Jenkintown Middle/High School
Jenkintown, PA

Old
lanceA

Default 06-16-2008, 03:36 PM

I'm not sure how to get Alice to accomplish that. I entered text for an object using ASCII codes to obtain the diacritical marks. (For example: Alt-168 will show up as ¿, Alt-149 will give you ò, Alt-133 for *, etc., etc.

During Edit mode the object's "say" tile shows this: Hola, ¿Còmo est*

However when the program is run it displays jibberish. Evidently Alice is picking up the keystroke for the ALT-key.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help. Good Luck

Old
DrJim

Default 06-17-2008, 09:59 AM

I had done a couple of postings on this a year or so ago and to be sure that information was still correct, I did a couple of tests.

The problem is that Alice only correctly decodes 7-bit fonts, at least True Type ones. As long as the ASCII code is less than 128, you will get the font you expect - even for very strange ones (the first two characters - literally - in the attached). For higher value codes (the rest of the string in the image), you just get garbage.