Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do I change default directories
Old
Isambard
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default How do I change default directories - 03-23-2011, 11:59 AM

Hi guys,

We've been asked by a teacher to put Alice on one of our computer suites and running into problems with the applications default directories, specifically the 'save and load from:' and 'directory capture to:'.

They are currently point to areas which students don't have access and would much rather have these preferences point to folders in each student's own areas.

Thanks,

Isambard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 03-23-2011, 04:31 PM

Im not aware of how to change the directories, but the screenshots on default are on the Desktop. Is that the same for you?


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Arrow 03-23-2011, 07:00 PM

Go to Edit > Preferences, and click the Screen Grab tab.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshotDirectory01.JPG (49.3 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg screenshotDirectory02.JPG (45.1 KB, 26 views)


Last edited by debussybunny563; 12-21-2012 at 12:00 AM.

|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|Link to weapons collection: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7368 |
|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

I have been dead for quite some time now; not much hope for resurrection.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,145
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N/A
Default 03-23-2011, 07:07 PM

I didn't realize it was that easy. I thought you had to change Alice's Python and/or JavaScript code to do that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 03-23-2011, 09:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by debussybunny563 View Post
Go to Edit > Preferences, and click the Screen Grab tab.
Doh. I actually didnt know that. I never saw the Browse button. I dont usually click Preferences, but....just a few times I did


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Isambard
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 03-24-2011, 05:00 AM

Hi guys,

Many thanks for the responses, really appreciate it.

I think I scould have been more specific in my original post, we know how to change the directories but wanted to know where that information is held within the application folder.

We can change the directory for one user but when another logs back on it defaults back to the original setting. In our environment students don't have access to their desktop so ideally would like to be able to set Alice to to point to their own area each time it's launched.

Many thanks, and sorry for not explaining myself clearly originally.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
aikmin
Senior Member
 
aikmin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 85
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default 03-29-2011, 06:23 AM

http://www.alice.org/index.php?page=...nload_alice2.2


Using Alice on a networked machine:

Alice 2.0 compatibility with networked machines has been hit-or-miss. This was due to the Alice preferences file location being hard-coded as:

C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\.alice

In cases where the user's home directory was not on the C drive or in a different path, Alice would throw up a gallery viewer error and possibly prevent the user from accessing Alice.

We have modified Alice 2.2 to allow the user to enter in the path to a writable directory on any drive, networked or local. This can be done by opening up the following file in a text editor:

Alice 2.2\Required\etc\version.txt

It should look like this:

2.2 9/1/2008
0x7F8AD1

Add a new line at the bottom and enter in the *full* path to where you would like the preferences stored. This will need to be a writable directory. Do not use quotes. For example, if I wanted to change the location to my desktop on drive E, I would do the following:

2.2 9/1/2008
0x7F8AD1
E:\Documents and Settings\jtimberlake\Desktop\.alice2

Save the file and close it. If Alice is running, make sure to shut it down and restart. To confirm it is working, navigate to the directory you typed above and you should see a .alice2 directory. If you do not see one, make sure hidden directories are viewable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Isambard
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up 04-01-2011, 05:12 AM

Cheers Aikmin, just what we needed. Thanks a million!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.