Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unable to run alice 2.3 (again)
Old
mat9999
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ljubljana
Default Unable to run alice 2.3 (again) - 11-08-2012, 05:44 PM

My Alice 2.3 starts, but hangs on loading... It runs on Win XP, SP3, Core2Duo, 2GHz, 3GBRAM, 1280x720 resolution screen, Java 6.31. I must end the process in task manager.

Do someone have some suggestion what to do?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Alice will not run
Old
djslater107
Administrator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 184
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Alice will not run - 11-09-2012, 06:26 AM

Would you do me a favor, delete the version of Alice that you have on your machine that you are trying to run and download an earlier version of Alice, to see if it will install and run. Try the August 5 version, available at this link…

http://www.alice.org/index.php?page=...ice2.2_archive

Thank you,
Don


Don Slater
Alice Team
Carnegie Mellon University
   
Reply With Quote
Old
mat9999
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ljubljana
Default 11-09-2012, 02:55 PM

So, as you've already know I downloaded recommended version from august, I remove .alice folder, I deinstalled 3.1, cleared the registry and folders and tryed to run 2.3 on 4 PC (3 stacionary and 1 laptop). They all had XP SP3, slightly different resolution, 3 of them core2duo and laptop with dual core. The situation is the same everywere. But Alice 2.2 works. Now I have only 2 reason remain: 1. national settings or 2. bad copy of 2.3 . Or... ?

I'd like to figure out who had had the same problem, and because of this replaced 2.3 with 2.2? This might be good to know, to find the reason faster.

Thanks.

Last edited by mat9999; 11-09-2012 at 03:13 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Problems running Alice
Old
djslater107
Administrator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 184
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Problems running Alice - 11-10-2012, 07:55 AM

This may be a 32/64 bit operating system problem. Our JOGL libraries are for 32bit system, so all 64 bit users need to make their Alice open in 32bit. There is a setting in the properties to do this (for both MAC and Windows)


Don Slater
Alice Team
Carnegie Mellon University
   
Reply With Quote
Old
mat9999
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ljubljana
Default 11-10-2012, 10:25 AM

http://www.pugetsystems.com/blog/201...-applications/

Last edited by mat9999; 11-10-2012 at 12:15 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
mat9999
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ljubljana
Default 11-11-2012, 11:50 AM

Return to my main problem I discovered, that 2.3 doesn't work on Vista as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Doesn't seem to work in 32-bit Win7 either
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Doesn't seem to work in 32-bit Win7 either - 11-29-2012, 09:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by djslater107 View Post
This may be a 32/64 bit operating system problem. Our JOGL libraries are for 32bit system, so all 64 bit users need to make their Alice open in 32bit. There is a setting in the properties to do this (for both MAC and Windows)
At least not consistently anway. I have tried in several different workstations n my classroom, but it fails in some. Just stsrts and freezes at the splash screen.

Running 2.3 on a win7 64-bit machine at home, and works fine.

Are you sure it's not some security issiue?
Attached Files
File Type: txt Alice2-3 is Broken Info.txt (883 Bytes, 2 views)

Last edited by MrMoke; 11-29-2012 at 09:52 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 11-29-2012, 09:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by djslater107 View Post
This may be a 32/64 bit operating system problem. Our JOGL libraries are for 32bit system, so all 64 bit users need to make their Alice open in 32bit. There is a setting in the properties to do this (for both MAC and Windows)
And the process would be?
   
Reply With Quote
Which One
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Which One - 11-29-2012, 10:41 PM

Currently have two Alice 2.3 zip files.
One is 342,218KB
One is 341,511KB
   
Reply With Quote
Alice 2.3
Old
djslater107
Administrator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 184
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Alice 2.3 - 11-30-2012, 11:02 AM

Try this...

Sorry to hear that you are having trouble launching Alice 2.3 on your computer. Can you please try renaming the following file:
C:\...\Alice 2.3\Required\lib\win32\jni_directx7renderer1.dll to jni_directx7renderer.dll (just remove the 1 from the end) and remove the other one from the directory.

Run Alice 2.3 and see if that works. If not, try running Alice in "compatibility mode". Right click on Alice.exe and select properties. In the "Compatibility tab, check the Run this program in compatibility mode for: Windows XP" checkbox.

Keep us posted...

Thanks,
Don Slater


Don Slater
Alice Team
Carnegie Mellon University
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2022, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.