Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Works-In-Progress

View Poll Results: What type of world should I make?
Movie 1 20.00%
Game 4 80.00%
User Input Application 0 0%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What should I make?
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default What should I make? - 12-20-2009, 02:38 PM

Well, winter brake is coming up and I will have a lot of time off from school to use Alice.

I was wondering if you had any ideas of what kind of world I should make. First rate in the pole whether you want it to be a game or a movie, and from there I will go more specific. Every day I will take the most rated one and then go even more specific until Wednesday when I will start making the game you want me to make. Log in each day and you should find a new poll which you can then vote on. I will try hard to get the world done by the end of break (early January).

Also if you have any specific ideas right off the top of your head, post them. If more than 3 or more other people also want that same idea, then I will choose that one.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-20-2009, 02:58 PM

Well, if your Blender Collada plugin is working, it'd be cool to see a movie with those new models.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 03:01 PM

x2495iiii my collada plugin is still not working, I don't know why. I downloaded everything you said and put it into the correct place. I'm thinking maybe I should redownload blender now that I have the newer version of Python?


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-20-2009, 03:25 PM

Give it a try, I suppose. I've never had this much trouble with it, and it apparently worked for Delpenator.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-20-2009, 11:36 PM

lol, it didn't apperently work, it did work. Thanks for that. Anyway, please, not a shooter! I can't believe i am going to say this, since i'm a teenager, but i am actually getting sort of sick of shooters.(lol although there hasn't been many) I'd like to see a really cool movie, i'd do one, but i'm not that creative writing scripts. Or this is another one of my crazy ideas (i should post them in a thread, i have so many), to create a user application WHERE THE USER CREATES THE WORLD! I think i might be able to do it, but it would take a while. You could do it like building blocks. Create a list of pretty much everything, and say while an object is 1/2 meter from another object, have that object move away by 1/2 meter. Also, whenever mouse clicks on an object, set that object to a variable, per say selectedObject, and have arrow keys move selectedObject and possibly camera. How about that idea? Hard, but i think your up to it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 11:37 PM

Eh, I think I would rather do a shooter, because I have never done one myself (unless you count the tank, but thats not really a fps). What you are saying, I guess it is possible but I don't know how fun it would be compared to the amount of work it would take to make it. If more people agree to your idea though then I will make it.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-20-2009, 11:46 PM

Well, like most of my crazy ideas, i got a plan for them and how to run them, which helps organize your thoughts. The only downside I see is that for it to actually be really useful, you would need a LOT of building blocks. Anyway, good luck on your fps if you have your mind set on it.

Just to prove i planned it (although i don't think you doubted me)
Example of setup for code:
Event - If space is typed, do mysecondmethod

Mysecondmethod
//Ask user if he wants this block to be vehicled to the nearby blocks
//within 5 or so meters
if user agrees
selectedBlock set vehicle to closest block.
//now the whole "building" you made out of blocks that are vehicled together act as one when clicked on

else
//continue with program

Last edited by Delpenator; 12-20-2009 at 11:51 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 976
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 11:52 PM

Hmm, yes or you could have a 3d text, and if you want a block to be vehicle to another block you click v, and then 3d text says "What block do you want to attach to?" And then another method has an object parameter for the object under mouse cursor, and it will set the block being moved the the block selected in the parameter when you click it. And there could be different buttons on screen or keyboard keys to be pressed for different options (vehicle, color, move side to side, up or down).

Now I can see how it could work, and I think I am getting how I could do it. But again, it will only be done if the majority agrees on it. However, if games is selected I will add this into one of the game options along with FPS and some others.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-21-2009, 12:03 AM

(Now, i am just thinking this up on the spot now, like most things)
you could pull off a village size building cluster or larger by:
first it would need to be spread out
set a limit to the number of blocks you could use
have like 10,15, or 20 or so number of blocks (probably should make big)
For each block create a list of 10 or so (for positions)
Set these when a block is created by user
Then say if block is more than 50 meters away
set block isShowing to false (which will allow to to use more blocks)
but keep its position in the list!
Then when another block is "created" by the user
set that position to the second item, in the list
and so on

Of course, you would have to make sure none of the items of the list are within 50 or so meters of each other, but that shouldn't be hard if you make the blocks big.

I haven't used positions really, so if that can't work, i got a backup plan:
Create a lot of dummy objects and set isShowing to false

Lol, i only posted that because
1. i wanted to persuade you (and everyone else)
2.i'd forget otherwise

Last edited by Delpenator; 12-21-2009 at 12:06 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-21-2009, 12:32 AM

I don't know what the position property is for, but it can't be manipulated unless you set it's position to that of another object's, or to the origin of the world.

And isn't the creation of a world what Alice is for? So creating a world like that would be like making a less-functional Alice inside of Alice?

If you want to make a shooter, then make one. Granted, there are a lot of them on the boards, but to date there hasn't been a complete one.

If you can't import Blender models, then you could always make a nice Escape The Room type game. Those don't require much animation, so the built-in Alice creatively arranged can make a wonderful scene. Also, there's no need to program things like collision detection or health bars into the world either. All you need is creativity when making the puzzles and item chains.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
choose, dameria, fun, game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2021, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.