Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Having a hard time "reading" Alice code.
Old
ringoffluff

Question Having a hard time "reading" Alice code. - 10-07-2014, 09:52 AM

Hello! I'm a computer science student with previous experience working in IT doing basic programming. I'm taking a prerequisite class that utilizes Alice, and so far I've had perfect grades on all my projects, quizzes, etc. Overall I'm enjoying the program and like the very visual learning style. I have a pretty good grasp of what I'm doing - when I'm the one writing the code.

My problem is that now in my quizzes (and upcoming midterm!), we're being asked questions based on blocks of code. For example, we'll be given a screen cap of code and asked the result of running it when certain conditions are applicable. I am having an awful time answering these questions, and I'm really not sure why. It doesn't make sense that I can put together the projects when asked, but I can't read them back when someone else has made them.

Is there a particular way I should be "reading" these? Are there links anywhere to tutorials or something where someone breaks down how they read through Alice code? I've done quite a bit of searching on my own and haven't come up with anything. My class is online, and unfortunately the tutoring sessions are during my work hours and I'm trying hard to avoid having to take time off of work to go to the tutoring session.

I've attached two screen caps from a previous quiz. The possible answers for it are 3, 4, 6, or 10 meters.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap1.JPG (75.4 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg cap2.JPG (63.6 KB, 17 views)

Get some note paper.
Old
MrMoke

Default Get some note paper. - 10-07-2014, 03:21 PM

The easiest way to solve a logic problem in programming is to build a list of the things that must be done to get the answer, and then build a flowchart to solve.