Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Objects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Serious help needed converting!!!!
Old
labtek9
Senior Member
 
labtek9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 122
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pluto
Question Serious help needed converting!!!! - 10-01-2009, 06:06 AM

hey i found a droid & clone model but i dont know ANYTHING about converting so i was hoping somebody would convert this droid and clone I found its what I need to almost complete my game who ever knows how to convert I WILL GIVE FULL CREDIT FOR CLONE AND DROID!!!



Thankyou for you help
Attached Files
File Type: zip bd_prophet_mp.zip (6.99 MB, 9 views)
File Type: zip z_clonemarine.zip (1.63 MB, 8 views)


Roar Face! >:O

Circle Buddy!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
labtek9
Senior Member
 
labtek9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 122
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pluto
Default 10-01-2009, 06:15 AM

and this
Attached Files
File Type: zip hs_kenobi_rots.zip (7.35 MB, 10 views)


Roar Face! >:O

Circle Buddy!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-05-2009, 07:48 PM

Two bits of bad news:

1. I just got a program recommended by Dr. Jim (the expert in these here parts) called 4D Blue which can export models in a format Alice recognizes, but it doesn't take the model format you have, .pk3 (Quake file format) and .glm (Ghoul mesh, an apparently unknown file format, as Google only yielded the obvious, that it's a 3d file format, and nothing else)

2. Just looking at the textures and icons included in the pk3 files, it looks like the models you found, though very nice, are actually TOO nice, or too complex, for Alice to handle anyway.

My advice: find a simpler model in a more popular format, like .3ds or .obj, or ask Dr. Jim personally and see if he'll help you out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MuqiTechNerd
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-20-2009, 09:38 PM

a question? can u convert sketchup files to alice? i heard that u change it to a *.ase file. but it doesnt work. the file's a lightsaber of darth vader's, and a desktop computer.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Vader's Lightsaber.zip (381.3 KB, 6 views)
File Type: zip DesktopComputer.zip (44.4 KB, 8 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-21-2009, 03:47 AM

It took a MASSIVE amount of work, but here's the finished product.

I don't recommend using the lightsaber very much, as it has a polygon count of nearly 20,000, way too large for Alice to handle easily. It should be okay in simple worlds or for display, but don't get carried away.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w Lightsaber.a2w (1.16 MB, 25 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MuqiTechNerd
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-21-2009, 05:53 PM

Thank you so much how did you do it????
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-21-2009, 08:28 PM

I exported the file from Sketchup Express as a .dae file, then downloaded a plugin which allowed Blender to import (and export) .dae files. Once imported, you can export it as a .3ds file, which can then be converted to a .ase (Alice-friendly) file. After that, however, you have to open the .ase file in notepad and delete all periods in the names of any materials or nodes in the object (and that's the hard part).

It took me about two and a half hours total of searching, downloading, converting, deleting, and testing to get it finally done.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MuqiTechNerd
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-22-2009, 08:48 PM

oh wow. well, thnx. im not gonna say u didnt hav 2. that sounds rude. but i have skp free. and it duznt export very well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-22-2009, 11:22 PM

Sketchup Express is Skp free. That's weird, though, since Sketchup Free should be able to export just fine, just in terrible, obscure formats.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 10-28-2009, 02:31 AM

You know that in notepad you could gone to "edit->replace" and then replaced all of the "." with nothing. Takes a few seconds


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2022, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.