Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-25-2009, 04:45 PM

The version of Alice I'm using, 2.2 updated 9/1/2008, is wonderful, and has these advantages over 2.0.

-Much better GUI for navigating your files
-Walking people library
-Slightly better support for sound
-Fixed bug with random number generators


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Akusai
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-28-2009, 10:25 AM

Well, the main problem I have with downloading a new copy of Alice is that I am on school computers and they just now increased security on .exe files that use the network, I.E, Alice on the web gallery, mainly because, other students and I have been playing Halo on the Windows machines, so if you could, please tell me possible solutions in terms of 2.0, mainly because my computer is too slow to run Alice.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-28-2009, 02:48 PM

You wouldn't happen to be one of those students, would you?...

No really, if you get an error when you run BOTH our worlds and your school has increased security, then it's possible that the worlds you're downloading aren't complete, that part of them is being filtered or changed by that increased security.

I just tested both worlds on my copy of Alice 2.0, and they worked perfectly. Assuming your copy of Alice is fine, the problem must lie in your ability to download worlds from these forums.

To test my theory, you could always download some of the worlds from your home computer, then save them to a memory stick and then try opening them with your school's copy of Alice.


(')>

Last edited by x2495iiii; 10-29-2009 at 10:38 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Akusai
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-29-2009, 10:24 AM

Yeah, that may work, but it will have to wait untill I get my new ISP....

What I have right now is worse than dialup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
xxledzeppelin2x3
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-30-2009, 10:23 PM

well i dont know what your problem is with the program because i re-downloaded alice about 2 weeks ago like you and x2495iiii's fps camera movement code works perfectly fine for me so did the one that was posted in the other thread that you spoke of. so i suggest maybe you uninstall and reinstall it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
xxledzeppelin2x3
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-30-2009, 10:24 PM

well i dont know what your problem is with the program because i re-downloaded alice about 2 weeks ago like you and x2495iiii's fps camera movement code works perfectly fine for me so did the one that was posted in the other thread that you spoke of. so i suggest maybe you uninstall and reinstall it?


( i wasnt saying that in a rude way but it kinda sounds like i was in my writing, sorry )

oh god im sorry for posting it 2 times! im not trying to spam!

Last edited by xxledzeppelin2x3; 10-30-2009 at 10:25 PM. Reason: messed up
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Akusai
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 11-02-2009, 01:25 PM

Yeah, I might have to reinstall it, but I honestly don't know what the problem is, with the FPS camera movement file, when the world starts the worl.LeftDist and world.TopDist variables set to None, and then no matter where I click, or where I move the mouse, they stay at None, pehaps if I put it in an infinite loop.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-02-2009, 03:42 PM

That'd be pointless. The methods are already in a "While the world is running" event, which means that they are constantly called as long as the world is playing. Essentially, they're already in an infinity loop.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Akusai
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 11-03-2009, 10:25 AM

Mmmmm'kay, hang on, I'll take a screenshot of the code, and maybe someone might see an error or something.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 4.jpg (19.3 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg Picture 5.jpg (19.9 KB, 38 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dubastot
Senior Member
 
dubastot's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 661
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Two Steps From Hell
Default 11-03-2009, 10:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
The version of Alice I'm using, 2.2 updated 9/1/2008, is wonderful, and has these advantages over 2.0.

-Much better GUI for navigating your files
-Walking people library
-Slightly better support for sound
-Fixed bug with random number generators
Ok x249iii I redownloaded my copy of alice 2.2 and now it works really well.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera, fps, game, mouse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2021, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.