Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

How do I translate Alice?
Old
finsalscollons

Default How do I translate Alice? - 08-17-2007, 01:43 PM

Hello.

I'm a high school teacher. I have just discovered Alice and I am excited about the possibilities to use it in the classroom.

However, my students are Spanish-speaking people with no English skills. It would be necessary to have Alice translated into Spanish. I am willing to do the translation myself (and then make it freely available).

Please, can anyone tell me how can I do that?

Thanks in advance,

Finsals Collons

Old
Razzle

Default 08-19-2007, 09:25 PM

I think that would require the source code which may or may not be availiable, either way I'm pretty sure that's a tough job.

Old
DickBaldwin

Default 08-19-2007, 11:27 PM

I believe I have read somewhere that the source code is available.

Translating Alice
Old
litomd

Post Translating Alice - 08-21-2007, 10:18 PM

Well I have been trying to post for a while now, lets see if I succeed this time.

The Alice source code is available. Yes it is.

Keep in mind however that it is not just a matter of finding every string in english and replacing it with the spanish equivalent. There is no easy way to do that. You would probably need to do a thorough revision of the code and the meaning of each message, sometimes you would need more than one translation for one message.

And remember that Alice 3.0 is coming in the near future, so your work may be render obsolete in the short time.

Regards,

Leonel

It is best to translate the tutorials stencils
Old
litomd

Lightbulb It is best to translate the tutorials stencils - 08-21-2007, 10:30 PM

Hi !!

Well I finally could post !!!! This is good !!!

We have a research project here in Universidad Rafael LandÃ*var in Guatemala. We are testing Alice and trying to develop a methodology for teaching programming with it to the equivalent here of High School.