Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Where are user defined methods saved?
Old
llarsen

Default Where are user defined methods saved? - 08-04-2009, 09:06 PM

Hi,

I'm a software developer that recently came across alice. My daughter likes to use scratch, but I thought it was time to teach her something that is more sophisticated. I tried storytelling alice first. I like the fact that the objects already have a lot of interesting functionality. I would prefer to use storytelling alice, but unfortunately when I try to open storytelling alice, it crashes most of the time before the GUI opens. (Anyone had success running story telling alice on vista? Did you have to do anything to get it to run properly - modify permissions perhaps?)

Since storytelling alice crashes alot, I tried alice. To make programming more interesting for my daughter I wanted to add some richer functionality to the alice characters (much like storytelling alice). However, I am having a hard time figuring out how to do this. I tried adding a character to my world, then adding some custom functions, and saving the character as a new object (an a2c file). It appears that the functions do not get saved with the character because when I try to import the character into a new world, the custom functions are not there.

Next I tried to figure out how custom methods are saved when you save your project. I have looked at the files stored in the a2w save file, but I couldn't see the customs functions I defined in this file. There is a python script file (with nothing in it), and some xml files, but none of the files seem to include the custom functions I defined. Where are custom methods stored? Is there a way to include custom methods inside the character (a2c) files? can you use the python script to extend the character functionality? Any info would be appreciated.

-llarsen

Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator

Default 08-04-2009, 11:35 PM